Cryptocurrency — Wikipedia Republished // WIKI 2

Bitcoin (BTC)A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System.

Bitcoin (BTC)A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System.
  • Bitcoin (BTC) is a peer-to-peer cryptocurrency that aims to function as a means of exchange that is independent of any central authority. BTC can be transferred electronically in a secure, verifiable, and immutable way.
  • Launched in 2009, BTC is the first virtual currency to solve the double-spending issue by timestamping transactions before broadcasting them to all of the nodes in the Bitcoin network. The Bitcoin Protocol offered a solution to the Byzantine Generals’ Problem with a blockchain network structure, a notion first created by Stuart Haber and W. Scott Stornetta in 1991.
  • Bitcoin’s whitepaper was published pseudonymously in 2008 by an individual, or a group, with the pseudonym “Satoshi Nakamoto”, whose underlying identity has still not been verified.
  • The Bitcoin protocol uses an SHA-256d-based Proof-of-Work (PoW) algorithm to reach network consensus. Its network has a target block time of 10 minutes and a maximum supply of 21 million tokens, with a decaying token emission rate. To prevent fluctuation of the block time, the network’s block difficulty is re-adjusted through an algorithm based on the past 2016 block times.
  • With a block size limit capped at 1 megabyte, the Bitcoin Protocol has supported both the Lightning Network, a second-layer infrastructure for payment channels, and Segregated Witness, a soft-fork to increase the number of transactions on a block, as solutions to network scalability.

https://preview.redd.it/s2gmpmeze3151.png?width=256&format=png&auto=webp&s=9759910dd3c4a15b83f55b827d1899fb2fdd3de1

1. What is Bitcoin (BTC)?

  • Bitcoin is a peer-to-peer cryptocurrency that aims to function as a means of exchange and is independent of any central authority. Bitcoins are transferred electronically in a secure, verifiable, and immutable way.
  • Network validators, whom are often referred to as miners, participate in the SHA-256d-based Proof-of-Work consensus mechanism to determine the next global state of the blockchain.
  • The Bitcoin protocol has a target block time of 10 minutes, and a maximum supply of 21 million tokens. The only way new bitcoins can be produced is when a block producer generates a new valid block.
  • The protocol has a token emission rate that halves every 210,000 blocks, or approximately every 4 years.
  • Unlike public blockchain infrastructures supporting the development of decentralized applications (Ethereum), the Bitcoin protocol is primarily used only for payments, and has only very limited support for smart contract-like functionalities (Bitcoin “Script” is mostly used to create certain conditions before bitcoins are used to be spent).

2. Bitcoin’s core features

For a more beginner’s introduction to Bitcoin, please visit Binance Academy’s guide to Bitcoin.

Unspent Transaction Output (UTXO) model

A UTXO transaction works like cash payment between two parties: Alice gives money to Bob and receives change (i.e., unspent amount). In comparison, blockchains like Ethereum rely on the account model.
https://preview.redd.it/t1j6anf8f3151.png?width=1601&format=png&auto=webp&s=33bd141d8f2136a6f32739c8cdc7aae2e04cbc47

Nakamoto consensus

In the Bitcoin network, anyone can join the network and become a bookkeeping service provider i.e., a validator. All validators are allowed in the race to become the block producer for the next block, yet only the first to complete a computationally heavy task will win. This feature is called Proof of Work (PoW).
The probability of any single validator to finish the task first is equal to the percentage of the total network computation power, or hash power, the validator has. For instance, a validator with 5% of the total network computation power will have a 5% chance of completing the task first, and therefore becoming the next block producer.
Since anyone can join the race, competition is prone to increase. In the early days, Bitcoin mining was mostly done by personal computer CPUs.
As of today, Bitcoin validators, or miners, have opted for dedicated and more powerful devices such as machines based on Application-Specific Integrated Circuit (“ASIC”).
Proof of Work secures the network as block producers must have spent resources external to the network (i.e., money to pay electricity), and can provide proof to other participants that they did so.
With various miners competing for block rewards, it becomes difficult for one single malicious party to gain network majority (defined as more than 51% of the network’s hash power in the Nakamoto consensus mechanism). The ability to rearrange transactions via 51% attacks indicates another feature of the Nakamoto consensus: the finality of transactions is only probabilistic.
Once a block is produced, it is then propagated by the block producer to all other validators to check on the validity of all transactions in that block. The block producer will receive rewards in the network’s native currency (i.e., bitcoin) as all validators approve the block and update their ledgers.

The blockchain

Block production

The Bitcoin protocol utilizes the Merkle tree data structure in order to organize hashes of numerous individual transactions into each block. This concept is named after Ralph Merkle, who patented it in 1979.
With the use of a Merkle tree, though each block might contain thousands of transactions, it will have the ability to combine all of their hashes and condense them into one, allowing efficient and secure verification of this group of transactions. This single hash called is a Merkle root, which is stored in the Block Header of a block. The Block Header also stores other meta information of a block, such as a hash of the previous Block Header, which enables blocks to be associated in a chain-like structure (hence the name “blockchain”).
An illustration of block production in the Bitcoin Protocol is demonstrated below.

https://preview.redd.it/m6texxicf3151.png?width=1591&format=png&auto=webp&s=f4253304912ed8370948b9c524e08fef28f1c78d

Block time and mining difficulty

Block time is the period required to create the next block in a network. As mentioned above, the node who solves the computationally intensive task will be allowed to produce the next block. Therefore, block time is directly correlated to the amount of time it takes for a node to find a solution to the task. The Bitcoin protocol sets a target block time of 10 minutes, and attempts to achieve this by introducing a variable named mining difficulty.
Mining difficulty refers to how difficult it is for the node to solve the computationally intensive task. If the network sets a high difficulty for the task, while miners have low computational power, which is often referred to as “hashrate”, it would statistically take longer for the nodes to get an answer for the task. If the difficulty is low, but miners have rather strong computational power, statistically, some nodes will be able to solve the task quickly.
Therefore, the 10 minute target block time is achieved by constantly and automatically adjusting the mining difficulty according to how much computational power there is amongst the nodes. The average block time of the network is evaluated after a certain number of blocks, and if it is greater than the expected block time, the difficulty level will decrease; if it is less than the expected block time, the difficulty level will increase.

What are orphan blocks?

In a PoW blockchain network, if the block time is too low, it would increase the likelihood of nodes producingorphan blocks, for which they would receive no reward. Orphan blocks are produced by nodes who solved the task but did not broadcast their results to the whole network the quickest due to network latency.
It takes time for a message to travel through a network, and it is entirely possible for 2 nodes to complete the task and start to broadcast their results to the network at roughly the same time, while one’s messages are received by all other nodes earlier as the node has low latency.
Imagine there is a network latency of 1 minute and a target block time of 2 minutes. A node could solve the task in around 1 minute but his message would take 1 minute to reach the rest of the nodes that are still working on the solution. While his message travels through the network, all the work done by all other nodes during that 1 minute, even if these nodes also complete the task, would go to waste. In this case, 50% of the computational power contributed to the network is wasted.
The percentage of wasted computational power would proportionally decrease if the mining difficulty were higher, as it would statistically take longer for miners to complete the task. In other words, if the mining difficulty, and therefore targeted block time is low, miners with powerful and often centralized mining facilities would get a higher chance of becoming the block producer, while the participation of weaker miners would become in vain. This introduces possible centralization and weakens the overall security of the network.
However, given a limited amount of transactions that can be stored in a block, making the block time too longwould decrease the number of transactions the network can process per second, negatively affecting network scalability.

3. Bitcoin’s additional features

Segregated Witness (SegWit)

Segregated Witness, often abbreviated as SegWit, is a protocol upgrade proposal that went live in August 2017.
SegWit separates witness signatures from transaction-related data. Witness signatures in legacy Bitcoin blocks often take more than 50% of the block size. By removing witness signatures from the transaction block, this protocol upgrade effectively increases the number of transactions that can be stored in a single block, enabling the network to handle more transactions per second. As a result, SegWit increases the scalability of Nakamoto consensus-based blockchain networks like Bitcoin and Litecoin.
SegWit also makes transactions cheaper. Since transaction fees are derived from how much data is being processed by the block producer, the more transactions that can be stored in a 1MB block, the cheaper individual transactions become.
https://preview.redd.it/depya70mf3151.png?width=1601&format=png&auto=webp&s=a6499aa2131fbf347f8ffd812930b2f7d66be48e
The legacy Bitcoin block has a block size limit of 1 megabyte, and any change on the block size would require a network hard-fork. On August 1st 2017, the first hard-fork occurred, leading to the creation of Bitcoin Cash (“BCH”), which introduced an 8 megabyte block size limit.
Conversely, Segregated Witness was a soft-fork: it never changed the transaction block size limit of the network. Instead, it added an extended block with an upper limit of 3 megabytes, which contains solely witness signatures, to the 1 megabyte block that contains only transaction data. This new block type can be processed even by nodes that have not completed the SegWit protocol upgrade.
Furthermore, the separation of witness signatures from transaction data solves the malleability issue with the original Bitcoin protocol. Without Segregated Witness, these signatures could be altered before the block is validated by miners. Indeed, alterations can be done in such a way that if the system does a mathematical check, the signature would still be valid. However, since the values in the signature are changed, the two signatures would create vastly different hash values.
For instance, if a witness signature states “6,” it has a mathematical value of 6, and would create a hash value of 12345. However, if the witness signature were changed to “06”, it would maintain a mathematical value of 6 while creating a (faulty) hash value of 67890.
Since the mathematical values are the same, the altered signature remains a valid signature. This would create a bookkeeping issue, as transactions in Nakamoto consensus-based blockchain networks are documented with these hash values, or transaction IDs. Effectively, one can alter a transaction ID to a new one, and the new ID can still be valid.
This can create many issues, as illustrated in the below example:
  1. Alice sends Bob 1 BTC, and Bob sends Merchant Carol this 1 BTC for some goods.
  2. Bob sends Carols this 1 BTC, while the transaction from Alice to Bob is not yet validated. Carol sees this incoming transaction of 1 BTC to him, and immediately ships goods to B.
  3. At the moment, the transaction from Alice to Bob is still not confirmed by the network, and Bob can change the witness signature, therefore changing this transaction ID from 12345 to 67890.
  4. Now Carol will not receive his 1 BTC, as the network looks for transaction 12345 to ensure that Bob’s wallet balance is valid.
  5. As this particular transaction ID changed from 12345 to 67890, the transaction from Bob to Carol will fail, and Bob will get his goods while still holding his BTC.
With the Segregated Witness upgrade, such instances can not happen again. This is because the witness signatures are moved outside of the transaction block into an extended block, and altering the witness signature won’t affect the transaction ID.
Since the transaction malleability issue is fixed, Segregated Witness also enables the proper functioning of second-layer scalability solutions on the Bitcoin protocol, such as the Lightning Network.

Lightning Network

Lightning Network is a second-layer micropayment solution for scalability.
Specifically, Lightning Network aims to enable near-instant and low-cost payments between merchants and customers that wish to use bitcoins.
Lightning Network was conceptualized in a whitepaper by Joseph Poon and Thaddeus Dryja in 2015. Since then, it has been implemented by multiple companies. The most prominent of them include Blockstream, Lightning Labs, and ACINQ.
A list of curated resources relevant to Lightning Network can be found here.
In the Lightning Network, if a customer wishes to transact with a merchant, both of them need to open a payment channel, which operates off the Bitcoin blockchain (i.e., off-chain vs. on-chain). None of the transaction details from this payment channel are recorded on the blockchain, and only when the channel is closed will the end result of both party’s wallet balances be updated to the blockchain. The blockchain only serves as a settlement layer for Lightning transactions.
Since all transactions done via the payment channel are conducted independently of the Nakamoto consensus, both parties involved in transactions do not need to wait for network confirmation on transactions. Instead, transacting parties would pay transaction fees to Bitcoin miners only when they decide to close the channel.
https://preview.redd.it/cy56icarf3151.png?width=1601&format=png&auto=webp&s=b239a63c6a87ec6cc1b18ce2cbd0355f8831c3a8
One limitation to the Lightning Network is that it requires a person to be online to receive transactions attributing towards him. Another limitation in user experience could be that one needs to lock up some funds every time he wishes to open a payment channel, and is only able to use that fund within the channel.
However, this does not mean he needs to create new channels every time he wishes to transact with a different person on the Lightning Network. If Alice wants to send money to Carol, but they do not have a payment channel open, they can ask Bob, who has payment channels open to both Alice and Carol, to help make that transaction. Alice will be able to send funds to Bob, and Bob to Carol. Hence, the number of “payment hubs” (i.e., Bob in the previous example) correlates with both the convenience and the usability of the Lightning Network for real-world applications.

Schnorr Signature upgrade proposal

Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (“ECDSA”) signatures are used to sign transactions on the Bitcoin blockchain.
https://preview.redd.it/hjeqe4l7g3151.png?width=1601&format=png&auto=webp&s=8014fb08fe62ac4d91645499bc0c7e1c04c5d7c4
However, many developers now advocate for replacing ECDSA with Schnorr Signature. Once Schnorr Signatures are implemented, multiple parties can collaborate in producing a signature that is valid for the sum of their public keys.
This would primarily be beneficial for network scalability. When multiple addresses were to conduct transactions to a single address, each transaction would require their own signature. With Schnorr Signature, all these signatures would be combined into one. As a result, the network would be able to store more transactions in a single block.
https://preview.redd.it/axg3wayag3151.png?width=1601&format=png&auto=webp&s=93d958fa6b0e623caa82ca71fe457b4daa88c71e
The reduced size in signatures implies a reduced cost on transaction fees. The group of senders can split the transaction fees for that one group signature, instead of paying for one personal signature individually.
Schnorr Signature also improves network privacy and token fungibility. A third-party observer will not be able to detect if a user is sending a multi-signature transaction, since the signature will be in the same format as a single-signature transaction.

4. Economics and supply distribution

The Bitcoin protocol utilizes the Nakamoto consensus, and nodes validate blocks via Proof-of-Work mining. The bitcoin token was not pre-mined, and has a maximum supply of 21 million. The initial reward for a block was 50 BTC per block. Block mining rewards halve every 210,000 blocks. Since the average time for block production on the blockchain is 10 minutes, it implies that the block reward halving events will approximately take place every 4 years.
As of May 12th 2020, the block mining rewards are 6.25 BTC per block. Transaction fees also represent a minor revenue stream for miners.
submitted by D-platform to u/D-platform [link] [comments]

Google's search for Bitcoin Coronavirus overtake Bitcoin halving 2020

Halving bitcoin is a short-term trend due to hyped feelings. Google trend data and price reactions suggest that halving could be an overly hyped incident. In addition, the interest in "Bitcoin Coronavirus" has halved given the safe perspective.
The five-year graph of Google trends and price trends indicate that the mood and online search peakedduring the halving (July 9, 2016) and fell almost instantly over the next few weeks. In addition, the price had taken a downward turn weeks before halving.
Coincidentally, the small increase in the trend before the moon shot rise coincides with the price peak. Therefore, after a certain point, there was an inverse correlation between online sentiments and price
The "Google trend" for the keyword "Bitcoin halving" appears to be falling again, indicating that the bull run may be priced in in half.
If we look at the top five capitalized altcoins - Ethereum, Ripple (XRP), Bitcoin Cash (BCH), Litecoin (LTC), and Bitcoin SV (BSV) - we see that the volume of search traffic largely matches the order of each crypto correlates assets by market cap - with the exception of “Litecoin”, which has more searches than “Bitcoin Cash”.
One of the biggest barriers to entry for disruptive technology is the incompetence of the average consumer. On the other hand, simply chasing consumer illiteracy can be a blessing for some really terrible inventions. In the clash of these two ideologies, we have reached the dumb currency singularity.
The digital currency has been on the way to dumb singularity for more than a decade, and we finally crossed the event horizon at the end of last year. At the end of 2019, the IRS tacitly published a series of guidelines for virtual currencies, in which common cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin and Ethereum were combined with Fortnite V-Bucks and Roblox Money.
I have just been informed that the legal term for the Roblox currency is "Robux". That seems ... fair.
My point, however cumbersome, is that someone who has had some influence with the United States Internal Revenue Service saw his grandchild begging for a Roblox card at the Walgreens cash register and thought, "MY GOD, THE BITCOINS COME FOR THE CHILDREN. " And then, when he expressed his horror, a phalanx of IRS colleagues looked around enough and thought "Yes, that sounds right" that it was lit green for public consumption.
This recommendation (on which the IRS claimed that Fortnite and Roblox players should report all purchases of "Bucks", be it "V" or "Ro" -) was monolithic for almost three months before being as quiet as off the stage was escorted it had arrived. In a bout of Streisand, this change attracted more attention than the addition initially, and the IRS made a formal statement. "The IRS recognizes that the language on our side may be of concern to some taxpayers," they said. "We changed the language to avoid confusion. Transactions in virtual currencies as part of a game that does not leave the game environment (virtual currencies that are not convertible) do not require a taxpayer to state this in their tax returns." "
submitted by jakkkmotivator to thecryptobasic [link] [comments]

Atomic Wallet Coin is SHOCKINGLY Undervalued ~750k Market Cap


Hey, /cryptomoonshots! Its my first post here (woo!)

I’ve been lucky enough to have found QNT and LTO from this subreddit. I’ve found a third project that looks extremely interesting and I’d like to share my research here. My background is in digital marketing and this project stood out to me, especially from a marketing and biz dev perspective, which I’ll share below.

Feel free to correct the record if I’ve posted anything incorrect and I will update it (I’m a human being, I make mistakes, okay!) Additionally, the CEO is constantly answering questions on Telegram!

The project is Atomic Wallet Coin. $AWC



TL;DR IS AT THE BOTTOM. ALWAYS DYOR. NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE.

WHAT IS ATOMIC WALLET?

Atomic Wallet is a non custodial crypto wallet for desktop and mobile. Users can exchange and buy 300+ cryptocurrencies from a single interface. The wallet can perform cross-chain atomic swaps.

It’s an exchange built into a wallet.

Shapeshift and Changelly are partnered with Atomic to add additional currency swap pairs + fair rates. Fiat/crypto gateway is supported directly through the app.

Atomic has over 40,000 monthly active users and boasts 150k+ downloads.

The project is one of the first to migrate over to Binance chain. They are currently in the process of getting listed on Binance DEX. Half of their supply will remain ERC-20 and the other half migrated to BEP-2.
https://twitter.com/cz_binance/status/1119047237076541440
https://twitter.com/atomicwallet/status/1119242545706434560
https://github.com/Atomicwallet
http://atomicwallet.io

20 FULL TIME EMPLOYEES AND CEO WITH PREVIOUS TRACK RECORD

Konstantin Gladych self funded Atomic Wallet with his own funds. He previously was the CEO and co-founder of Changelly, a fully compliant crypto exchange service which has been around since 2013 and has serviced over 2 million users across the world.

“Changelly's trading algorithms are integrated into large and reputable trading platforms, such as Binance, Bittrex, Poloniex and HitBTC” - Wikipedia

Konstantin holds a PhD in data science/machine learning and left his CEO position at Changelly to develop Atomic Wallet full time.

The team currently consists of 20 full-time employees - 6 developers, 7 support and community managers, 6 marketing and business development, and 1 designer.

https://linkedin.com/in/gladkos
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Changelly
https://www.crunchbase.com/person/konstantin-gladych
https://community.binance.org/t/proposal-for-listing-atomic-wallet-token-awc-on-binance-dex/2093

APPROVED WALLET BY NEO FOUNDATION, ZCASH, GEMINI, LISK, AND OTHERS

Atomic Wallet is trusted by many household names in crypto. This does NOT mean Atomic is “partnered” with these companies, however it adds massive credibility to AWC considering they trust it enough to add it as a recommended wallet on their websites.

Take a look for yourself:

https://neo.org/client
https://z.cash/upgrade/sapling/
https://gemini.com/dolla
https://twitter.com/LiskHQ/status/1121357080173133824

95,000+ UNIQUE VISITORS PER MONTH TO ATOMICWALLET.IO


traffic statistics for atomicwallet.io [pic]

Atomic Wallet has an A+ marketing team.

Here’s a quick snapshot of how well atomicwallet.io is performing (see above). They’ve gone from 0 to 95k unique visitors per month in well under one year. Purely from Google search traffic. This doesn’t include traffic from Twitter, Facebook, and other sources. It also was during the worst bear market in crypto history, when these search terms would be at a low.

Let’s see how Atomic Wallet measures up against some well-known sites:

myetherwallet.com 802k/mo
Ripple.com 580k/mo
Ledger.com 401k/mo
Exodus.io 172k/mo
Coinmama.com 165k/mo
Shapeshift.io 149k/mo
Electrum.org 125k/mo
Atomicwallet.io 95k/mo
Freewallet.org 70.9k/mo
Trustwallet.com (Binance owned) 24k/mo

Atomic Wallet has virtually caught up to or exceeded many of it’s competitors in terms of traffic in well under a year. Turning this traffic into downloads/new users is child’s play. It’s one of the reasons this company with 20+ employees is already profitable in just a few short months.

So, how is this site getting so many visitors?

Here are a few search terms that Atomicwallet.io ranks on page 1 for on Google.

Open up a new tab, visit Google.com and see for yourself!

“EOS wallet”
“ETH wallet”
“BNB wallet”
“Buy Bitcoin”
“Ethereum wallet”
“XRP wallet”
“Ripple wallet”
“DASH wallet”

+27,100+ additional search terms that bring in a total of 94,700 visitors per month. Purely. from. Google. Search.

traffic statistics for atomicwallet.io [pic]

$AWC TOKENOMICS

Atomic’s website does a thorough job of explaining the tokenomic details of the $AWC coin. The tokenomics mirror the standard use-cases you would expect from an exchange token (Bibox, KCS, etc.) The CEO recently expressed his interest in adding staking rewards for AWC holders. He is also exploring the idea of having IEO-type listings for Atomic Wallet users/holders in the future. New projects could theoretically debut directly on their platform and be traded against $AWC, similar to how Bitmax runs IEOs.

Currently, 90% of the circulating supply is locked up and Konstantin has announced his intention to buy back and burn tokens with company profits.

Here are a few of the use cases for $AWC:

The team is looking to make $AWC directly tradeable from the app in the future.

With thousands of new Atomic Wallet users per month, this is an incredibly exciting feature.

https://atomicwallet.io/token

FINAL THOUGHTS

Atomic Wallet will grow to an active user base in the millions. Every crypto holder needs a wallet. Atomic provides a user-friendly wallet for newbies getting their feet wet in crypto. Most newbs aren’t going out and buying a LedgeTrezor right away. Building an exchange directly into the wallet provides a safe and easy way to trade crypto assets.

The number of cryptocurrency users and addresses are growing exponentially. Atomic wallet was created during the bear market. They are perfectly positioned to take a massive share of the increasingly competitive crypto wallet market during a bull market/alt coin season.

In my opinion, they’re on track to be the #1 desktop/mobile multi-crypto wallet.

As someone who is experienced in search engine/digital marketing, these guys have an ace marketing team. Even beating or ranking just below Coinbase for many competitive Google search terms in just a few short months.

I have zero doubts that they will blow past every single one of their roadmap goals, especially as Bitcoin continues to climb in value and more people start buying crypto.

Despite short term fluctuations in price, Atomic will continue to onboard thousands of new users every single month. The traffic numbers don’t lie. The Google search rankings don’t lie. Atomic will need to be wise about how they monetize this traffic.

The company is already profitable. The CEO is well connected and has proved he is highly competent in creating and successfully running a crypto exchange.

I have a lot more info to share about this project if there is interest, I’ll post a part 2 or a follow-up in the comments.

A profitable company of this caliber with 20 full-time employees isn’t justified at a ~$750k market cap.

https://atomicwallet.io/roadmap-for-2019
https://medium.com/@mccannatron/12-graphs-that-show-just-how-early-the-cryptocurrency-market-is-653a4b8b2720

ADDITIONAL LINKS AND FURTHER READING

  1. https://atomicwallet.io/
  2. https://twitter.com/atomicwallet
  3. https://t.me/atomicwalletchat
  4. https://github.com/Atomicwallet
  5. https://www.coinbureau.com/review/atomic-wallet/
  6. https://community.binance.org/t/proposal-for-listing-atomic-wallet-token-awc-on-binance-dex/2093

TL;DR


Currently at 750k market cap

2.7MM market cap is a 3.6x from here.
5M market cap is a 6.6x from here.
8MM market cap is a 10.6x from here.

DYOR.

submitted by key_mnk_ to CryptoMoonShots [link] [comments]

Decred Journal – August 2018

Note: you can read this on GitHub (link), Medium (link) or old Reddit (link) to see all the links.

Development

dcrd: Version 1.3.0 RC1 (Release Candidate 1) is out! The main features of this release are significant performance improvements, including some that benefit SPV clients. Full release notes and downloads are on GitHub.
The default minimum transaction fee rate was reduced from 0.001 to 0.0001 DCkB. Do not try to send such small fee transactions just yet, until the majority of the network upgrades.
Release process was changed to use release branches and bump version on the master branch at the beginning of a release cycle. Discussed in this chat.
The codebase is ready for the new Go 1.11 version. Migration to vgo module system is complete and the 1.4.0 release will be built using modules. The list of versioned modules and a hierarchy diagram are available here.
The testnet was reset and bumped to version 3.
Comments are welcome for the proposal to implement smart fee estimation, which is important for Lightning Network.
@matheusd recorded a code review video for new Decred developers that explains how tickets are selected for voting.
dcrwallet: Version 1.3.0 RC1 features new SPV sync mode, new ticket buyer, new APIs for Decrediton and a host of bug fixes. On the dev side, dcrwallet also migrated to the new module system.
Decrediton: Version 1.3.0 RC1 adds the new SPV sync mode that syncs roughly 5x faster. The feature is off by default while it receives more testing from experienced users. Other notable changes include a design polish and experimental Politeia integration.
Politeia: Proposal editing is being developed and has a short demo. This will allow proposal owners to edit their proposal in response to community feedback before voting begins. The challenges associated with this feature relate to updating censorship tokens and maintaining a clear history of which version comments were made on. @fernandoabolafio produced this architecture diagram which may be of interest to developers.
@degeri joined to perform security testing of Politeia and found several issues.
dcrdata: mainnet explorer upgraded to v2.1 with several new features. For users: credit/debit tx filter on address page, showing miner fees on coinbase transaction page, estimate yearly ticket rewards on main page, cool new hamburger menu and keyboard navigation. For developers: new chain parameters page, experimental Insight API support, endpoints for coin supply and block rewards, testnet3 support. Lots of minor API changes and frontend tweaks, many bug fixes and robustness improvements.
The upcoming v3.0 entered beta and is deployed on beta.dcrdata.org. Check out the new charts page. Feedback and bug reports are appreciated. Finally, the development version v3.1.0-pre is on alpha.dcrdata.org.
Android: updated to be compatible with the latest SPV code and is syncing, several performance issues are worked on. Details were posted in chat. Alpha testing has started, to participate please join #dev and ask for the APK.
iOS: backend is mostly complete, as well as the front end. Support for devices with smaller screens was improved. What works now: creating and recovering wallets, listing of transactions, receiving DCR, displaying and scanning QR codes, browsing account information, SPV connection to peers, downloading headers. Some bugs need fixing before making testable builds.
Ticket splitting: v0.6.0 beta released with improved fee calculation and multiple bug fixes.
docs: introduced new Governance section that grouped some old articles as well as the new Politeia page.
@Richard-Red created a concept repository sandbox with policy documents, to illustrate the kind of policies that could be approved and amended by Politeia proposals.
decred.org: 8 contributors added and 4 removed, including 2 advisors (discussion here).
decredmarketcap.com is a brand new website that shows the most accurate DCR market data. Clean design, mobile friendly, no javascript required.
Dev activity stats for August: 239 active PRs, 219 commits, 25k added and 11k deleted lines spread across 8 repositories. Contributions came from 2-10 developers per repository. (chart)

Network

Hashrate: went from 54 to 76 PH/s, the low was 50 and the new all-time high is 100 PH/s. BeePool share rose to ~50% while F2Pool shrank to 30%, followed by coinmine.pl at 5% and Luxor at 3%.
Staking: 30-day average ticket price is 95.6 DCR (+3.0) as of Sep 3. During the month, ticket price fluctuated between a low of 92.2 and high of 100.5 DCR. Locked DCR represented between 3.8 and 3.9 million or 46.3-46.9% of the supply.
Nodes: there are 217 public listening and 281 normal nodes per dcred.eu. Version distribution: 2% at v1.4.0(pre) (dev builds), 5% on v1.3.0 (RC1), 62% on v1.2.0 (-5%), 22% on v1.1.2 (-2%), 6% on v1.1.0 (-1%). Almost 69% of nodes are v.1.2.0 and higher and support client filters. Data snapshot of Aug 31.

ASICs

Obelisk posted 3 email updates in August. DCR1 units are reportedly shipping with 1 TH/s hashrate and will be upgraded with firmware to 1.5 TH/s. Batch 1 customers will receive compensation for missed shipment dates, but only after Batch 5 ships. Batch 2-5 customers will be receiving the updated slim design.
Innosilicon announced the new D9+ DecredMaster: 2.8 TH/s at 1,230 W priced $1,499. Specified shipping date was Aug 10-15.
FFMiner DS19 claims 3.1 TH/s for Blake256R14 at 680 W and simultaneously 1.55 TH/s for Blake2B at 410 W, the price is $1,299. Shipping Aug 20-25.
Another newly noticed miner offer is this unit that does 46 TH/s at 2,150 W at the price of $4,720. It is shipping Nov 2018 and the stats look very close to Pangolin Whatsminer DCR (which has now a page on asicminervalue).

Integrations

www.d1pool.com joined the list of stakepools for a total of 16.
Australian CoinTree added DCR trading. The platform supports fiat, there are some limitations during the upgrade to a new system but also no fees in the "Early access mode". On a related note, CoinTree is working on a feature to pay household bills with cryptocurrencies it supports.
Three new OTC desks were added to exchanges page at decred.org.
Two mobile wallets integrated Decred:
Reminder: do your best to understand the security and privacy model before using any wallet software. Points to consider: who controls the seed, does the wallet talk to the nodes directly or via middlemen, is it open source or not?

Adoption

Merchants:

Marketing

Targeted advertising report for August was posted by @timhebel. Facebook appeal is pending, some Google and Twitter campaigns were paused and some updated. Read more here.
Contribution to the @decredproject Twitter account has evolved over the past few months. A #twitter_ops channel is being used on Matrix to collaboratively draft and execute project account tweets (including retweets). Anyone with an interest in contributing to the Twitter account can ask for an invitation to the channel and can start contributing content and ideas there for evaluation by the Twitter group. As a result, no minority or unilateral veto over tweets is possible. (from GitHub)

Events

Attended:
For those willing to help with the events:
BAB: Hey all, we are gearing up for conference season. I have a list of places we hope to attend but need to know who besides @joshuam and @Haon are willing to do public speaking, willing to work booths, or help out at them? You will need to be well versed on not just what is Decred, but the history of Decred etc... DM me if you are interested. (#event_planning)
The Decred project is looking for ambassadors. If you are looking for a fun cryptocurrency to get involved in send me a DM or come talk to me on Decred slack. (@marco_peereboom, longer version here)

Media

Decred Assembly episode 21 is available. @jy-p and lead dcrwallet developer @jrick discussed SPV from Satoshi's whitepaper, how it can be improved upon and what's coming in Decred.
Decred Assembly episodes 1-21 are available in audio only format here.
New instructional articles on stakey.club: Decrediton setup, Deleting the wallet, Installing Go, Installing dcrd, dcrd as a Linux service. Available in both English and Portuguese.
Decred scored #32 in the August issue of Chinese CCID ratings. The evaluation model was explained in this interview.
Satis Group rated Decred highly in their cryptoasset valuation research report (PDF). This was featured by several large media outlets, but some did not link to or omitted Decred entirely, citing low market cap.
Featured articles:
Articles:
Videos:

Community Discussions

Community stats:
Comm systems news:
After another debate about chat systems more people began testing and using Matrix, leading to some gardening on that platform:
Highlights:
Reddit: substantive discussion about Decred cons; ecosystem fund; a thread about voter engagement, Politeia UX and trolling; idea of a social media system for Decred by @michae2xl; how profitable is the Obelisk DCR1.
Chats: cross-chain trading via LN; plans for contractor management system, lower-level decision making and contractor privacy vs transparency for stakeholders; measuring dev activity; what if the network stalls, multiple implementations of Decred for more resilience, long term vision behind those extensive tests and accurate comments in the codebase; ideas for process for policy documents, hosting them in Pi and approving with ticket voting; about SPV wallet disk size, how compact filters work; odds of a wallet fetching a wrong block in SPV; new module system in Go; security of allowing Android app backups; why PoW algo change proposal must be specified in great detail; thoughts about NIPoPoWs and SPV; prerequisites for shipping SPV by default (continued); Decred vs Dash treasury and marketing expenses, spending other people's money; why Decred should not invade a country, DAO and nation states, entangling with nation state is poor resource allocation; how winning tickets are determined and attack vectors; Politeia proposal moderation, contractor clearance, the scale of proposals and decision delegation, initial Politeia vote to approve Politeia itself; chat systems, Matrix/Slack/Discord/RocketChat/Keybase (continued); overview of Korean exchanges; no breaking changes in vgo; why project fund burn rate must keep low; asymptotic behavior of Decred and other ccs, tail emission; count of full nodes and incentives to run them; Politeia proposal translations and multilingual environment.
An unusual event was the chat about double negatives and other oddities in languages in #trading.

Markets

DCR started the month at USD 56 / BTC 0.0073 and had a two week decline. On Aug 14 the whole market took a huge drop and briefly went below USD 200 billion. Bitcoin went below USD 6,000 and top 100 cryptos lost 5-30%. The lowest point coincided with Bitcoin dominance peak at 54.5%. On that day Decred dived -17% and reached the bottom of USD 32 / BTC 0.00537. Since then it went sideways in the USD 35-45 / BTC 0.0054-0.0064 range. Around Aug 24, Huobi showed DCR trading volume above USD 5M and this coincided with a minor recovery.
@ImacallyouJawdy posted some creative analysis based on ticket data.

Relevant External

StopAndDecrypt published an extensive article "ASIC Resistance is Nothing but a Blockchain Buzzword" that is much in line with Decred's stance on ASICs.
The ongoing debates about the possible Sia fork yet again demonstrate the importance of a robust dispute resolution mechanism. Also, we are lucky to have the treasury.
Mark B Lundeberg, who found a vulnerability in atomicswap earlier, published a concept of more private peer-to-peer atomic swaps. (missed in July issue)
Medium took a cautious stance on cryptocurrencies and triggered at least one project to migrate to Ghost (that same project previously migrated away from Slack).
Regulation: Vietnam bans mining equipment imports, China halts crypto events and tightens control of crypto chat groups.
Reddit was hacked by intercepting 2FA codes sent via SMS. The announcement explains the impact. Yet another data breach suggests to think twice before sharing any data with any company and shift to more secure authentication systems.
Intel and x86 dumpsterfire keeps burning brighter. Seek more secure hardware and operating systems for your coins.
Finally, unrelated to Decred but good for a laugh: yetanotherico.com.

About This Issue

This is the 5th issue of Decred Journal. It is mirrored on GitHub, Medium and Reddit. Past issues are available here.
Most information from third parties is relayed directly from source after a minimal sanity check. The authors of Decred Journal have no ability to verify all claims. Please beware of scams and do your own research.
Feedback is appreciated: please comment on Reddit, GitHub or #writers_room on Matrix or Slack.
Contributions are welcome too. Some areas are collecting content, pre-release review or translations to other languages. Check out @Richard-Red's guide how to contribute to Decred using GitHub without writing code.
Credits (Slack names, alphabetical order): bee, Haon, jazzah, Richard-Red and thedecreddigest.
submitted by jet_user to decred [link] [comments]

[Daily BAT Discussion] Rendezvous in the Rain - February 7, 2018

February 7, 2018
Hey BAT junkies! Welcome to the Daily BAT Discussion!
Yesterday's Market Movements - Upwards Recovery
After seemingly days on end of red in the charts, we finally saw some green yesterday morning. We saw both Bitcoin and Ethereum go up, and the rest of the altcoin market followed in sync. BAT came back from 3900 sats to touch a local high of 4900 sats, before settling back down to 4400 sats ($0.33). Just another rollercoaster day in crypto!
If you guys missed it, the morning kickstarted with the USA Congressional hearing from an SEC chairman and a CTFC chairman, ending with an overall positive sentiment for crypto. You can catch the video here, or check out this post for a summary of the hearing.
Go crypto, and go BAT!
Tutorials
Here are some guides for new people getting into crypto, especially BAT. Invest responsibly!
Daily Discussion Rules
Remember, the permitted topics of discussion include, but are not limited to:
For now, dailies won't be stickied. So if you can, please upvote!
Disclaimer: All content on BAT Dailies are not affiliated with the official Brave or BAT team, and are solely run and provided by the BAT community unless otherwise stated.
submitted by dragespir to BATProject [link] [comments]

Log of AMA with Blockport.io - @Kai Bennink , @Sebastiaan Lichter, @Pascal, (Pascal van Stehen) and @Zowie Langdon

Disclaimer: ARK is regularly hosting Ask-me-Anything's of upcoming and promising cryptocurrency projects. Other than being the host, there is no relation between ARK and the featured cryptocurrency in this AMA. Keep in mind that ARK has no competitors - only future partners.
dr10 Let us all welcome the team from Blockport.io @Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport), @Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @Pascal (Marketing at Blockport) (Pascal van Stehen) and @Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport) (Zowie Langdon). You can all start asking them questions. I'd ask team from Blockport to use @ username to the one they are responding to and I'd like to ask all the community to give them some time to catch up if too many questions in backlog, before asking more so questions don't get lost. Thank you! (edited)
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) Hi everyone!
JayCrypto What is blockport
dr10 Welcome!
*lars * Welcome !
Pascal (Marketing at Blockport) Hey everyone!
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @JayCrypto Blockport is a hybrid-decentralized exchange with a strong focus on user-friendliness, social trading features and building a knowledge sharing community.
tranzer How is blockport different than other exchanges? Are you gonna offer fiat pairs?
Crasha What do you need a token for?
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) Hey Crasha, good question, we use the Blockport token to create a micro-economy inside the Blockport exchange to incentivise experienced traders for sharing their knowledge and trading activities. In order to "govern" this micro-economy we therefore create our own token :slightly_smiling_face:
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) Hey all
munich (Ark.Land Delegate) Welcome!
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @tranzer Blockport focuses on user-friendliness and simplicity. This means that anyone, beginner or advanced, can use the Blockport exchange without having any prior knowledge or experience with professional trading. Unlike other exchanges, Blockport is not just about trading. As a social platform, we implement social trading and knowledge sharing features in the core of our exchange. Additionally, we offer our members the best of both worlds by combining centralized trading with decentralized storing of crypto assets. For more technical information about the Blockport functional design, please read our white paper.
munich (Ark.Land Delegate) Will there be any fees for using Blockport?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @munich (Ark.Land Delegate) yes, we handle fees. Since we're also connected with other exchanges we have to cover their fees as well. We work towards a decentralized way of trading so that fees become minimum.
pieface Hello and welcome
Blazeron how does the token have value?
*munich (Ark.Land Delegate) * Has the whitepaper been released? (edited)
Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport) @munich (Ark.Land Delegate) The whitepaper is indeed released and available here: https://blockport.io/read-the/whitepaper.pdf :slightly_smiling_face:
Spiros (Chief Design at Blockport) Hey everyone
ovsh @Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) As your previous background is comprised of an MBA internship and a 4 month startup that has no current available website right now (poolhere.com), what makes you confident you have the ability to deliver such a huge platform?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) It's not just about me. We are a team with different capabilities. I have a strong network and social skills and built a great team around me. Having said that, I have also been a project manager at the biggest insurance platform in the netherlands where I was leading a team on conversational AI / chatbot technology.
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) Great question by the way:)
ovsh ^ pointy question, but this is an AMA
pieface Could you please define social features? Is it a platform which will allow you to add other traders as friends or "follow" them etc? Also, what's the method of connecting with other people you don't directly know?
pieface For example, i'm a lonely trader on your platform and want to socialise, how does that happen?
strengthbst2 Yes I don't understand how the social features would be useful.
*munich (Ark.Land Delegate) * Will your token be used as a way to get fee discounts? Like Binance and KuCoin
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @munich (Ark.Land Delegate) Yes, one of the utilities of the token, is to pay for discounted trading fees like Binance. The other utility is to pay for social trading features.
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) @Crasha "Why do you need a token" Hey Crasha, good question, we use the Blockport token to create a micro-economy inside the Blockport exchange to incentivise experienced traders for sharing their knowledge and trading activities. In order to "govern" this micro-economy we need a token that we can control.
ovsh ^ @Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) Can you expand on the 'incentivise an experience trader' part? Assuming I'm an experienced trader, how would that work? And as most tokens are held right now as a form of investment, what prevents the token from being grubbled up to expect a price hike?
cam When's release goal?
Crasha So what will be the experience for these difference permutations of users? Experienced trader with many tokens Experienced trader with few tokens New trader with many tokens New trader with few tokens
Pascal (Marketing at Blockport) Hi @pieface, Blockport offers our members a professional platform where they can demonstrate their skills, and explain their strategies to the community. Social trading features consist of you being able to follow other traders and paying experienced traders to have a peek into their portfolio.
For more information on these features, check our recent post on Medium: https://medium.com/blockport/blockports-social-trading-features-b4fdb646dd43 (edited)
Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport) @cam Hi! You can find our roadmap on our website here: https://blockport.io/#home_route-map :slightly_smiling_face: Blockport The first social crypto exchange We are building a user-friendly crypto exchange that combines social trading with a hybrid-decentralized architecture to help people safely trade crypto assets. We bridge the gap between the crypto economy and the traditional world of finance to shift towards a digital and decentralized society.
Spiros (Chief Design at Blockport) :+1:
cam How is one considered experienced? Word of mouth? Paid via blockport tokens or preferred form of payment?
pieface thanks @Pascal (Marketing at Blockport)
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) @ovsh Beginner traders can pay experienced traders Blockport tokens (BPT) to follow or copy their trading activities. In return, experienced traders can earn BPT to share their portfolio, knowledge and insights with beginners. This opens up a new stream of revenue for experienced traders, next to earning returns on trading. When it comes to people holding the token as an investment, we cannot prohibit this.
tranzer You also going to offer margin trading?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @Crasha I don't know if I correctly understand your question. But experienced traders who perform well, will probably gain more of a following so that they will earn more BPT as a reward. Members who don't have a lot of BPT can earn them by gaining followers or sharing information or buy them in the Token Shop within the Blockport exchange.
KidCDN I like that idea personally!
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @tranzer That's not on our current roadmap, but we will not exclude it from future plans.
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) @cam For every member we will track their performance based on certain indicators, such as: ROI in the past 6 months, amount of followers, etc. We have not defined these KPI's yet but it is definitely something we will develop in Q2/Q3 of 2018.
ceibaweb will I be able to buy Ark with fiat on Blockport
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @ceibaweb We are open to discuss the possibilities :slightly_smiling_face:
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) @KidCDN Thanks! Could you explain why? :slightly_smiling_face:
tranzer Are you all from Netherlands? Have your own office or working from your homes ?
lars They are all working in my basement :trollark:
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @tranzer Yes, we're all from the Netherlands. Our HQ is located in TQ, which is a curated tech hub backed by Google and KPMG in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
arno @Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) will you accept USD deposits?
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) @lars hahaha
KidCDN @Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) As someone who is pretty darn new in the world of cryptocurrency and looking to actually progress, having more successful traders' tips and portfolio to use as reference (not necessarily a copy as you want to make your own decisions so you don't blame anyone for potential losses) would be very appealing. I also know that some people would rather keep their successful methods to themselves, so having some form of compensation for sharing with others could be very appealing.
It also makes you want to study up, build a following and communicate with the community more frequently, because gaining followers is just generally beneficial and gaining tokens for doing so seems like a great added reward.
JayCrypto Can you share your teams tech experience
tranze How much you aim to raise? Must say kind of like this idea of hybrid exchange.
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @arno because we're located in the Netherlands we will start with accepting EUR, this is also due to our partnership with CardGate (payment provider). However, we will move forward to accepting creditcards and other currencies. Regulatory wise this is a challenge.
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @tranzer Great :slightly_smiling_face: the hardcap for the pre-sale is €1M and for the crowdsale it is €9M.
munich (Ark.Land Delegate) So you will accept credit cards right away? How do you plan to deal with possible chargebacks and fraud?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @munich (Ark.Land Delegate) No we will not accept them right away. We will be moving forward as fast as possible to accept creditcards, exactly because of the chargebacks.
munich (Ark.Land Delegate) Ok, what about IDEA, SEPA transfers?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @munich (Ark.Land Delegate) Yes, those we will accept :wink:
ovsh what is this 'referral code' on the pre-token sale form?
ovsh & is there a reason the design & UX language on blockport is very very similar to that of Coinbase?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @ovsh We issue referral codes to community members who like to be ambassadors and wish to spread the news with their network. They will get a reward for referring people. If this interests you, you can join our community here and request one: https://t.me/blockport Telegram Blockport Community You can view and join @blockport right away.
ovsh Sounds cool! As a dev, how do I pitch in if I'm interested?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @KidCDN Great to hear:)
Azek It doesn't seem exactly fair or open to have a private pre-sale and then a public pre sale. What is the reasoning for this, and why not just have a public token sale, in the spirit of being open and transparent.
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @ovsh You need to talk with our CTO :slightly_smiling_face: @Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport)
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) @KidCDN Wauw, thanks for the elaborate feedback :slightly_smiling_face:
Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport) @JayCrypto Our technical team consists of people with a diverse set of expertise! I myself function as a lead engineer at my own company that specializes in web application development, and and I mainly work as an architect and Python developer and love to tinker in/around security related subjects and infrastructure management.
We also have an engineer, Laurens Profittlich in our team that is lead developer for a company that specializes in fraud detection, working for some of the largest banks in the Netherlands (including Rabobank).
Then there is Jan Bolhuis, Ethereum developer, experienced Audit & Security specialist and has worked for the Dutch Navy as an IT specialist.
Also, Erik Terpstra, who is founding engineer of Blendle, API specialist and early Bitcoin investotrader is part of our team.
Additionally we have an experienced Blockchain dev that is still currently working for a large BTC Merchant payment provider, he wishes to stay anonymous for now.
And then there is Bas du Pré, currently lead developer at ABN Amro, who is joining us to build our MVP!
Azek Sounds like an awesome team :slightly_smiling_face:
Spiros (Chief Design at Blockport) @ovsh Good questions; We made careful decisions on which elements to include and exclude form our platform. In the end we wanted to focus on simplicity of use. We came to a set of functionalities that we all agreed should cover the basic functions for beginner traders to be able to enter. These choices also gave us the ability to build on these functionalities for future additions with regards to experienced traders using our platform.
Indeed some functionalities resemble other trading platform but we strongly believe Blockport has a strong (Ux) identity and you will experience this for yourself when the time comes to have a full look at our platform including the trading platform and social features. These are all unique in feature and design.
ovsh One thing I'm worried about is the timeline. Q2-Q3 in 2018 crypto-land is roughly 500 light years in real time. Assuming a more 'relaxed' (increased) financial cap, what's your flexibility in ramping up development time?
Azek I had the same concern as you do ovsh when I read the timeline
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @Azek Everyone can signup for the pre-sale but participants have to purchase the minimum amount of BPT. In that sense, the pre-sale is publicly accessible to everyone, however, the public crowdsale starting 1st of March is more accessible for "the crowd" because of the lower minimum participation of 0.1 ETH. We are also in contact with some bigger players who requested a private sale, but we have gotten more attention than we'd expected so now the private also looks more like a public sale.
Azek Ah okay. That makes more sense.
Azek Got my +1 now :wink:
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) We just (1 hour ago) launched our new website, do you guys have any feedback?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @Azek Great! :slightly_smiling_face:
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) www.blockport.io
Azek So the private one is one that you have to register for (and I think it costs 2.5 ETH) and the 'public' one is one that anyone can grab for only a min of .1 ETH
rootbark so your UI is designed for newbies to be user friendly but you have large private investors getting discounted undisclosed rates. Can you give us a breakdown of how many coins for the stages in your sale? (edited)
Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport) @ovsh @Azek Good question! And a valid concern. As a developer you can probably acknowledge that there is a certain maximum you reach in terms of development performance, especially when working on something that can be considered quite experimental (startup in crypto land). We are definitely aiming to increase our team capacity and thereby the speed with which we build Blockport, but we value stability of our platform and want to ensure proper delivery. Therefore we might be able to speed it up, but we don’t want make any promises that we might not be able to keep. As you know, big promises that may or may not be kept in the end are not scarce in crypto land :slightly_smiling_face:
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @Azek Exactly.
ovsh What's the status of the tech right now?
ovsh & more importantly, what's the "decentralized" component of the exchange itself?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @rootbark We keep the amount for private investors relatively low (13% of the total tokensales amount). So that the private presale total token amount is 6.400.000 BPT and for the crowdsale it is 43.200.000 BPT. The biggest amount of all the BPT available is for the crowd. Also of all BPT ever being minted, 71,4% is going to the token sales.
dr10 OK, we are approaching the 60 minutes mark. Any last questions for Blockport team? Anything the team would like to add or tell - feel free to do.
rootbark im sorry if this was asked but where are you based?
mward @Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) so for the pre-sale we need to apply on the website and wait for mail
Spiros (Chief Design at Blockport) @rootbark Amsterdam - Netherlands
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @rootbark Sebastiaan Lichter @tranzer Yes, we're all from the Netherlands. Our HQ is located in TQ, which is a curated tech hub backed by Google and KPMG in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Posted in #trading_altcoinsToday at 7:22 PM
ovsh what's the "decentralized" component of the exchange itself?
mike any chance the platform will let you follow multiple traders, assign a weight to their porfolios, and combine them into a single displayed portfolio. also, have you heard of Marketocracy, ran a similar type of service without crypto a few years back?
Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport) @ovsh We have been experimenting with the necessary components needed for our MVP in Q1. Basically, our infrastructure is more or less defined and we have been able to hook up some components to assess feasibility of our roadmap. Now, we are focusing on getting our MVP in the air before January 2018 excluding the actual trading of crypto on the platform.
As for the decentralized part of the exchange we are currently looking into using an open-protocol such as Kyber Network, Polkadot or Loopring (0x is also a good option but they only offer ERC20 based tokens). We know that the decentralized protocols are hot, but can lack the needed performance. Therefore, we have not specified exactly what protocol we will work with for now, to allow for flexibility we might need.
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @mward That's correct, you will get a mail when the whitelisting process is live.
mward any eta?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @mward In 2 weeks time
mward thanks
hemlck Sorry if this has been asked already, you say on your site that the user owns the private key to the Wallet. Does this mean it goes straight to your own wallet (the users wallet) or is it still held by you guys?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @mike Yes we allow you to follow multiple traders and decide how much of your funds you wish to allocate to each of them. I haven't heard of Marketocracy, could you share a link?
mike https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marketocracy
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @mike thanks!
mike Marketocracy let you paper trade a portfolio, had contests for best performers, and used the best to run their own fund.
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) Thank you everyone for participating and asking us challenging and good questions:) If you're excited please feel free to join our telegram community: https://t.me/blockport and keep updated about our progress!
dr10 You might want to share your social media channels and more details on the crowdsale. :slightly_smiling_face:
dr10 Ah yeah :smile:
mike you could also choose to follow other traders. It was written on Ruby on Rails, know one of the devs who used to work there.
munich (Ark.Land Delegate) +1 for using Ark
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) The presale starts the 3rd of January! and our Crowdsale starts the 1st of March: )
Jan Bolhuis @ArkEcosystem; thank you for this 60 minute opportunity!
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @mike looks promising :slightly_smiling_face: thank you
Kai Bennink (Founder of Blockport) Thanks @dr10 and thanks everyone for you questions and feedback!:clapping:
dr10 Thank you Kai, Sebastiaan, Zowie, Spiros and Pascal for taking the time to do this AMA! All the best with the project and you are always welcome to hang around our Slack.
lars Thanks guys for your time!
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @dr10 Thank you dr10 for the support we really appreciate it:)
JohnnyD Sorry if it has been answered, but is there a reason why the presale is limited to 2 eth?
tranzer Good luck with project you guys look serious and interesting will keep an eye out
JohnnyD Or whatever the lmit was?
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @lars thank you !
lars And you guys can hang out ofcourse
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @JohnnyD it is not limited, it is a minimum. (2.5 ETH).
JohnnyD oh, right. Why there's a lower limit I meant. sorry
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @tranzer thank you for your support and great questions
mike thanks for presenting a very good project for crypto, look forward to it coming out.
Sebastiaan Lichter (Founder of Blockport) @JohnnyD its due to an other audience we're targeting than the crowdsale.
Zowie Langdon (Chief technology of Blockport) Thanks everyone for the questions, feedback and support! :smile:
JohnnyD um, ok
mike Ark ACES may be useful to you as it adds coins, and ArkVM and AIP11, the Ark Virtual Machine and upgraded tx protocol to support solidity contracts on ArkVM.
Pascal (Marketing at Blockport) Thanks for the interest everyone, see you on the moon :slightly_smiling_face:
submitted by Dr10tv to ArkEcosystem [link] [comments]

Your first Binance walkthrough to start buying some cryptocurrency BAD THINGS May Be About To Happen to BITCOIN! Bitcoin DOUBLE TOP! Why I'm NOT Concerned... BINANCE STARTS PEER TO PEER TRADING FOR CHINESE YUAN - YouTube Binance is Enemy #1 of the ETHEREUM DeFi Kindgom!! Why This Bitcoin Dump Is Nothing To Worry About: Explained BITCOIN’S CRASH PATTERN: How Long?! What is Bitcoin? Bitcoin Explained Simply for Dummies ... Watch this Bitcoin Pump VERY Carefully: Here’s Why Bitcoin’s FALSE Hope: Disappointing Story Behind this Pump

Buy Bitcoin / Other Digital Assets - With Bitcoin.co.id, you will be able to buy Bitcoin or other assets in less than an hour. We accept payment and deposit from any local bank in Indonesia. Sell Bitcoin / Other Digital Assets - Exchange your Bitcoin or other assets to Rupiah instantly only with a few clicks! Your money will arrive in your bank ... Aaron Hankins of the MarketWatch refers to any cryptocurrencies other than bitcoin as altcoins. Crypto token. A ... He cautioned that virtual currencies pose a new challenge to central banks' control over the important functions of monetary and exchange rate policy. While traditional financial products have strong consumer protections in place, there is no intermediary with the power to limit ... Home Bitcoin Crypto Exchange Binance Blacklisted by Russia’s Telecom Censorship Agency Crypto Exchange Binance Blacklisted by Russia’s Telecom Censorship Agency . September 26, 2020 Delia Bitcoin 0. Russia’s telecom regulator Roskomnadzor has added Binance, the world’s largest crypto exchange, to the list of blacklisted websites in the country. The exchange was blacklisted on June 2 ... The Fed Chair says as far as a U.S.-issued CBDC is concerned, it is “more important to get it right than to be first.” The IMF held a virtual panel that discussed digital currencies and cross ... The Bitcoin Wiki describes Devcoin Devcoin as “the coin where 90% of the generation goes to open source developers and 10% to the miners”. 9. Freicoin. Like Bitcoin, Freicoin is also a peer-to-peer currency based on the accounting concept of the proof-of-work blockchain created by Satoshi Nakamoto. However, unlike the most famous virtual ... ^ "Binance and Other Crypto Exchanges Back $32 Million Stable Coin Project". Fortune. Retrieved 2018-08-30. ^ "Binance Backs $32 Million Funding for Unicorn Founder's Crypto Stablecoin - CoinDesk". CoinDesk. 2018-08-29. Retrieved 2018-08-30. ^ "Virtual Markets Integrity Initiative Report" (PDF). Virtual currency, or virtual money, is a type of unregulated digital currency, which is issued and usually controlled by its developers and used and accepted among the members of a specific virtual community.The U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission has warned investors against pump and dump schemes that use virtual currencies. The Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN), a bureau of ... Bitcoin has been the most successful virtual currency so far. It is the most popular currency for market capitalization holding 90% of the total market. Litecoin, Dogecoin, Primecoin & Peercoin are some of the other virtual currencies in the virtual community. Show More . Join Trade Experts Chats On Telegram. Share. Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Tumblr Pinterest Reddit. Qadir AK. Qadir Ak is the ... Bitcoin ATM Last updated December 02, 2019 Cryptocurrency ATM in Peoria, Illinois. This model is a "two-way", meaning users may buy or sell Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. A Bitcoin ATM (Automated Teller Machine) is a kiosk that allows a person to purchase Bitcoin by using cash or debit card.Some Bitcoin ATMs offer bi-directional functionality enabling both the purchase of Bitcoin as well ... However, the 'virtual' Binance Card is available in a beta version. Binance users can expect the 'physical' Binance Card in their hands within the next few weeks. According to the blog post, the Binance Card will be first rolled out in Malaysia followed by Vietnam and then further to other countries. To avail the 'Binance Card' service, customers will need to the landing page and then download ...

[index] [14752] [11918] [2570] [447] [17164] [784] [7966] [16209] [415] [13821]

Your first Binance walkthrough to start buying some cryptocurrency

Start trading Bitcoin and cryptocurrency here: http://bit.ly/2Vptr2X Bitcoin is the first decentralized digital currency. All Bitcoin transactions are docume... Once you have your cryptocurrency deposited in Binance you can begin exchanging for other currencies and learn the art of trading. I don't cover trading in this first Binance walkthrough. this ... This market trading analysis applies to various exchanges, including Bitmex and Binance. Tackling questions like if Bitcoin can reach 20k again and if we will be seeing a crypto currency market ... None of my Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Ripple (XRP), Binance Coin (BNB) videos - or any other cryptocurrency videos/online posts - count as financial advice. I am not liable for any losses you ... This market trading analysis applies to various exchanges, including Bitmex and Binance. Tackling questions like if Bitcoin can reach 20k again and if we will be seeing a crypto currency market ... This market trading analysis applies to various exchanges, including Bitmex and Binance. Tackling questions like if Bitcoin can reach 20k again and if we will be seeing a crypto currency market ... This market trading analysis applies to various exchanges, including Bitmex and Binance. Tackling questions like if Bitcoin can reach 20k again and if we will be seeing a crypto currency market ... This market trading analysis applies to various exchanges, including Bitmex and Binance. Tackling questions like if Bitcoin can reach 20k again and if we will be seeing a crypto currency market ... Binance is no friend of Ethereum but Enemy #1! They are planning a massive attack against Ethereum DeFi!! They have attacked the base chain with Tether, they are attacking Ether traders with ... Check out our website: https://cryptognt.com/ Binance Is Now Accepting Fiat Currencies Through Alipay And WeChat The cryptocurrency exchange Binance has star...

http://binary-option-bachrein.bestbinaryoptionbroker.info